top of page
Search
  • Tony Lewis

Fairchild Trainers

My entry into the world of giant-scale warbirds was a Dynaflite PT-19. Over the years I have flown 5 of these in various configurations.


Specs

Wingspan: 89"

Weight: 14-18 pounds


The original airframe was completed in the mid-90s. It was powered by a Zenoah G-23 and covered with Coverite 21st-century fabric. My Dad and I flew this plane for several years learning the ropes of giant scale. The airplane took the bumps and bruises and kept on flying. Unfortunately, it went down due to radio failure at a giant scale event around 2000.


The second plane was built as a PT-23 using the remains of the crashed PT-19. It was again covered with 21st-century fabric but we swapped the tired Zenoah for a US Engines 35cc. This plane became the most heavily flown airframe I have probably ever had. This plane traveled all over with me attending events in at least 6 different states.

Photo by DuWayne Kuenzi.

After 4 years, the engine gave up. I discovered a lot of dry rot and weak wood around the firewall when I removed the engine. I had already been working on a new PT, so I made the decision to retire this airframe.


PT number 3 was built from a fresh Dynaflite kit and finished as a PT-26. Again, Coverite 21st Century fabric was used for covering and it was outfitted with a Zenoah G-26. This one was built with scale split flaps.

Photo by Bob Einwalter.

During its second season, it found its way into a tree on a dead-stick approach.


The damage was very repairable but the plane needed to be completely recovered due to the poor quality of the late-run 21st Century fabric. Repairs were made and the plane was finished with Stits Lite fabric.


Version #4 emerged as a PT-19 variant. The Stits fabric was painted with latex paint and it was once again powered by the Zenoah G-26.

Photo by Nicole Lewis.


And once again, early in its second season, a flame out had me making a dead stick approach where it found a small thistle bush and was significantly damaged.





The airframe was repaired, once again, and converted to a PT-23 variant.

The finish this time was Top Flite Monokote with a new DLE-20 mounted to the nose.



I got most of a season out of this one before I stupidly flew it out of receiver battery power. The resulting crash thoroughly destroyed the airframe and I finally let it die ending a string of almost 20 seasons with a Dynaflite PT in my hangar.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page